2022 ONZ Award winners announced – ceremony will take place at 2023 Nationals
By Joolz - Fri 28 Apr 2023 10:50pm

The award recipients have been mentioned at the ONZ AGM in April 2023, but the award presentations are to be at the 2023 Nationals later this year.

Volunteer Service awards
For voluntary service to Orienteering New Zealand

Three years:
• 3 years Guy Cory-Wright (Auckland)
• 3 years Selwyn Palmer (Auckland)

Six years:
• 6 years Matt Bixley (PAPO)
• 6 years Josie Boland (PAPO)
• 6 years Russell Higham (Red Kiwis)
• 6 years Alister Metherell (PAPO)

Brighouse Trophy
For the best combined performance by an affiliated ONZ member in national and provincial long-distance events during the year by an individual.

  • Carsten Joergensen (PAPO) & Carey Martin (Taranaki)

MTBOer of the Year Award
For meritorious performance or significant improvement demonstrated by an individual in mountain bike orienteering during year nominated

  • Stuart Lynch (North West)

Rogainer of the Year award
For meritorious performance by an individual or team in rogaining during the year nominated.

  • Marina Comesky (Wellington) & Oak Jones (Taranaki)

Junior international performance of the year award
For international performance by a junior in the year nominated.

  • Zefa Fa’avae (Nelson)

International Performance of the Year Award
For achievement by an individual or team in international competition in the year nominated.

  • Tim Robertson (Hutt Valley)

President’s award
For outstanding volunteer contribution to a club (or clubs) by an individual during the year nominated.

  • Guy Cory-Wright (Auckland)

Innovation Award
For the individual, club, or group that demonstrates innovative approaches that have the potential to advance
the sport. Innovation could be in a number of areas including technology, event formats, mapping, sports
development, or process/system advances.

  • Philip Herries (Hawkes Bay)

Coach of the year award
For outstanding contribution in coaching by an individual during the year nominated

  • Briana Steven (PAPO)

Administrator of the year award
For outstanding contribution in administration for either a club, ONZ or a special project by an individual during the year nominated

  • Robert Sutton (Nelson)

Services to Orienteering New Zealand award
Our premier service award honouring an individual who has contributed in a most deserving manner to the development of orienteering in New Zealand.

  • Lyndon Haugh (Taupo)

Share this on:

ONZ COVID-19 Information