NOL / NSL sportclass + regional leaderboard 2022/23

You do not need to dig through pages of NZ orienteering event results for checking ranking ever again. The top New Zealand orienteering athlete sportclass leaderboard does all the hard work of analysing combined performances on one page.

For the 2022-23 NOL an athlete’s total points will be calculated from their best 3 scores in the first 6 races plus their bets 4 scores from the Orienteering New Zealand Championships and King’s Birthday races.

Orienteering NZ NOL & NSL Sports Class Leaderboard 2022-23

The latest leaderboard points can be accessed here:

Men’s NOL leaderboard

• Women’s NOL leaderboard

• Men’s NSL leaderboard

• Women’s NSL leaderboard

What was called the Superseries for several years, has been replaced by the National Orienteering League (NOL) and the National Sprint League (NSL). The NOL and NSL are season-long series for New Zealand’s fastest navigators with races in a range of terrain on both sides of Cook Strait. 

Regional pride is on the line, as athletes earn points and we can see the male and female champion in elite and junior elite grades, as well as a champion 35 & 40 on same course as 20 & 18.
The NOL will be joined by the National Sprint League (NSL), a similar format series, but with a focus on sprint orienteering events next year.
The regional team leaderboard for the season added below has been calculated by Scott Smith. An epic new O season has started. Booyah!

How does the NOL scoring work?

The NOL/NSL is contested in M/W21E (open men’s/women’s) and in M/W17-20E (under 21 men’s/women’s) grades at nominated events. Points are awarded based on time behind the winner in each event.

  • Only one NOL table for men, and one for women
  • 21E get points based on 100 for the winner of a race (as at present)
  • 20E get points based on 80 for the winner unless 20E is on the same course as 21E when they get points based on 100 for the combined winner
  • 18A, 20A, 21W get points based on 60 for the winner. If any of these classes are on the same course (e.g. 20A and 21A) the points get calculated on the combined winner
  • At KB the school senior classes would also be included
  • At the end of the NOL there are winners in 21E, 20E and Sport in terms of position on the overall table
  • Total score based on best 4 scores from ONZ and KB combined plus best 3 others
  • We’ll add in 35 and 40. M40 is on same course as 21A (course 3) and M20 and 18 are both on C4. Women are split between 3 (21E), 4 (20E), 5 (40) and 6 (18, 20 and 21) but we can cope with that.

2022/23 National Orienteering League leaderboard

Red – 20E points (different courses to 21E so 80 down).
Blue – 18, 20, 21, 40A points (some are combined as they were on the same course, others not, but 60 points max).

(last updated 30 January 2023)

NOL Leaderboard events

LW1 +LW2 | Labour weekend Day 1 &2 – Tūāraki Northern & Auckland Champs | 22 / 23 October 2022
SI22L + SI22M | Taitonga South Island Long & Middle Champs, Canterbury | 12 / 13 November 2022
SI23L + SI23M | Taitonga South Island Long & Middle Champs, Nelson | Sat 28 Jan 2023 – Sun 29 Jan 2023
ONZL + ONZM | Nationals / NZ Orienteering Champs, Napier / Hastings | Fri 07 Apr 2023 – Mon 10 Apr 2023
KB1, KB2 + KB3 | Kings Birthday | Sat 03 Jun 2023 – Mon 05 Jun 2023

NSL Leaderboard events:

NSL 1 | SI Champs 2022 sprint distance (Geraldine) | 11 November 2022
NSL 2 | Southern O weekend individual sprint WRE (Lincoln School), KO Sprint (Lincoln University), Sprint relay (Canterbury A&P grounds ), Canterbury | 4-6 February 2023
NSL 3 | Katoa Po Weekend 2 x individual sprint (TBA) | 11-12 March 2023
NSL 4 | Champs sprint, follow-on KO sprint (TBA) | 7-11 April 2023
With 5 individual sprints and 2KO sprints final scores will be based on the 3 individual sprints and the beats KO sprint

Club abbreviation guide:

Northern regionCentral regionSouthern region
AK AucklandHB Hawkes BayDN Dunedin
CM Counties ManukauHV Hutt ValleyMB Marlborough
NW North West / WhangareiRK Red Kiwi / ManawatuNL Nelson
BP Bay of PlentyTK TaranakiPP Peninsula & Plains
TP TaupōWR WairarapaSD Southland
WK WaikatoWN Wellington