Sprint bronze for Tim in Terezin!
By Malcolm Ingham - Sun 4 Jul 2021 7:17pm

Tim Robertson has done it again – producing another great race to take 3rd place in the WOC2021 Sprint held in Terezin, Czech Republic overnight! The race took in town streets, made more complex by the insertion of multiple barriers, and then the highly complex fortifications at the edge of town with multiple tunnels and impassable walls.

Tim finished a mere 13 seconds down on Sweden’s Isaac von Krusenstierna in a time of 13:59. Second place was taken by Norwegian Kasper Harlem Fosser, 6 seconds ahead of Tim. After what looked like a solid and careful start, from control 5 onwards Tim was never out of the top 4 even being in second place (albeit by 1 second) 3 controls from the finish. With Yannick michiels of belgium in 4th and another Swede, Max Peter Bejmer, 5th, Florian Howald in 6th was the first Swiss – the first time in many years that there has been no Swiss runner in the top 3.

1.Isaac von Krusenstierna (SWE) 13:46, 2. Kasper Harlem Fosser (NOR) 15:53, 3. Tim Roberston (NZL) 13:59, 4. Yannick Michiels (BEL) 14:02, 5. Max Peter Bejmer (SWE) 14:05, 6. Florian Howald (SUI) 14:06.

New Zealand’s other representative, Toby Scott, mispunched in the morning qualification race when on track to make the final.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is tin-tunnel-550x362.jpgThis image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is aerial-550x335.jpg
Tim in one of the tunnels under the fortifications (Photo: Petr Kaderavek) and an aerial view of the fortifications

The women’s race was won by Tove Alexandersson although not without some excitement. Tove led by 30 seconds after about 11 controls but then dropped to 4th on the long leg from 11 to 12 before recovering to win by 9 seconds from Natalia Gemperle (running as Neutral as Russia are banned from competition), with Maja Alm of Denmark, the winner in 2018 but now out of retirement, in 3rd.

1.Tove Alexandersson (SWE) 14:03, 2. Natalia Gemperle (NEU) 14:12, 3. Maja Alm (DEN) 14:20, 4=. Alice Leake (GBR) 14:24, 4=.Simona Aebersold (SUI) 14:24, 6. Elena Roos (SUI) 14:25.

Share this on:

ONZ COVID-19 Information