1973 50 years historic
Anne Audain 50 years historic
Snell & Marquita 50 years historic
South Auckland van 50 years historic
Team 50 years historic
Forne and Hubbman 50 years historic
WOC Report #4 – Toby, Gene and Lizzie lead the way for NZL
By Malcolm Ingham - Thu 15 Aug 2019 6:49am

Toby Scott produced the best men’s NZL result in WOC long distance for many years when he finished in 30th place in today’s race at Mork. Toby was just under 4 minutes ahead of Gene Beveridge who also contributed to an impressive team performance in finishing 34th. In the women’s race Lizzie Ingham had her best long distance finish since 2011 in being only a couple of minutes outside the top 20 in 25th place. NZL’s two other runners, Cam de l’Isle and Greta Knarston hung on gamely to finish 62nd and 56th respectively. The visibility of the New Zealand performances was greatly enhanced when, with early start times, Toby and Gene were in 1st and 2nd place for a long time and got to sit side-by-side in the giant green leaders chair!  All three of these top performers admitted to relatively clean runs with only a couple of minutes of mistakes, but felt that the long legs which were a feature of both courses almost encouraged a lot of road/track running as the best

Toby and Gene get to sit in the leader’s chair!

Toby on the start line

options (Men’s map: https://woc2019.no/files/maps/WOC2019_Long_Men.pdf ; women’s map https://woc2019.no/files/maps/WOC2019_Long_Women.pdf).

The men’s title went, for the 4th year in a row, to local favourite Olav Lundanes. Olav had his work cut out, however, to keep out the JWOC gold medallist Kasper Fosser, running at his first WOC. The winning margin was just over 90 seconds, with the Swiss pair of Daniel Hubmann and Matthias Kyburz in 3rd and 4th ahead of O-Ringen winner Ruslan Glibov of Ukraine.

In the women not only did Tove Alexandersson match Lundanes feat of a fourth consecutive title, but she also completely destroyed the field with a massive winning margin of over 6 minutes. Lina Strand made it a Swedish 1-2 when she edged out last year’s JWOC star Simona Aebersold of Switzerland for the silver.

Men: 1. Olav Lundanes (NOR) 1:30:09, 2. Kasper Fosser (NOR) 1:31:48, 3. Daniel Hubmann (SUI) 1:33:07, 4. Matthias Kyburz (SUI) 1:33:10, 5. Ruslan Glibov (UKR) 1:33:24, 6. Magne Daehli (NOR) 1:35:37, 30. Toby Scott (NZL) 1:48:38, 34. Gene Beveridge (NZL) 1:52:00, 39. Henry McNulty (AUS) 1:55:17, 50. Brodie Nankervis (AUS) 2:00:37, 62. Cameron de L’Isle (NZL) 2:10:30.

Women: 1. Tove Alexanderssson (SWE) 1:09:00, 2. Lina Strand (SWE) 1:15:16, 3. Simona Aebersold (SUI) 1:15:50, 4. Marika Teini (FIN) 1:16:02, 5. Sabine Hauswirth (SUI) 1:18:26, 6= Venla Harju (FIN) 1:19:14, 6= Karolin Ohlsson (SWE) 1:19:14, 25. Lizzie Ingham (NZL) 1:28:54, 45. Aislinn Predergast (AUS) 1:41:03, 47. Krystal Neumann (AUS) 1:44:07, 56. Greta Knarston (NZL) 1:55:04.

Greta in the arena passage

Lizzie leaves the last control

Thursday is a rest day before competiton resumes on Friday with the middle distance final, and, apart from the opportunity to sleep in, sees an invitation to visit the Aussies in their accommodation 10 minutes up the road.



Share this on:

ONZ COVID-19 Information